Originallity Kills Covers: Mervyn Lindsay

Standing tall at six foot six and 200 pounds, Canyon Springs small forward Mervyn Lindsay looks to help bring home another successful season for his team. After starting varsity as a junior last year, Merv and the rest of the returning members of the Cougars basketball squad are hoping to utilize their experience from last season. Talent wise, the squad is very strong and poses a threat as a legitimate contender in their division. As we look forward to this season unfolding, the Canyon Springs SF answered a few questions about himself and the team.

Nick D’s: How do you feel about the upcoming season?

Merv: I feel that we are one of the most underrated teams in the Inland Empire. We have a chance to make a lot of unexpected noise in our league as well as CIF Division.

Nick D’s: Does your experience from last season help? What lessons did you learn and how do you expect to apply them this season?

Merv: It helps a a lot. The most important thing I learned is that a championship caliber team will stay together [even through tough times]. As far as applying the lesson to this season, I plan on establishing the family-like atmosphere from our coaches to other players.

Nick D’s: How long have you been playing basketball and what about the sport has kept you passionate since then?

Merv: I started playing organized ball when I was about 10 years old. It’s crazy because most people don’t know that I was playing soccer for about 5 or 6 years. Ever since I picked up a ball, I could never put it down. [It was] love at first sight.

Nick D’s: Who is your favorite basketball player of all time? Do you have a favorite NBA team? Is there a certain athlete that really inspires you to continue to improve your game?

Merv: [My favorite] player of all time is Kobe [Bryant]. Of course, my favorite team is the Lakers. The one player that inspires me to continue to improve is Kobe. Just the fact he comes back [every year] with a new weapon to use is amazing. I try to do the same.

Nick D’s: A lot of players have revealed that music is also a big inspiration. Is there a certain artist or song you listen to before games/during workouts to pump you up?

Merv: Music is a big factor. I like to listen to various hip hop artists before playing. As long as the flow is right and the beat is something to bounce too.

Nick D’s: Since you are still a student athlete, how difficult is it to balance school and basketball? Is there any colleges you are hoping to get recruited by?

Merv: It’s not difficult for me at all honestly. In my house, it has always been books then sports so I can thank my parents for that. As far as recruitment goes, the schools I’ve been hearing from are Depaul and San Diego State. Yes, the early signing period has passed but I will sign in the late period once my parents, my aau coach, and I sit down and decide on the best place for me.

Nick D’s: That’s a good mindset for a young player such as yourself to have. Aside from working out, what do you do in your free time? Do you have any unique hobbies you feel people should know about?

Merv: In my free time I really just stay in the house and relax. Twitter keeps me occupied 24/7 and so does Facebook. Every now and then I might step out the house to go somewhere. I’m not much of a party person.

Nick D’s: Is there a certain motto or quote you’d like to leave the readers with?

Merv: Hard Work Beats Talent, when talent doesnt work hard. UNDERDOG

Nick D’s: Are you a supporter of Originallity Kills? If so, why?

Merv: Yeah I visit the site occasionally because they have the newest updates on clothes and music.

Nick D’s: Shout outs?

Merv: DOWNLOAD CONSISTENCY

Leave a Reply

